Wykeham, Girls' Collegiate & The Wykeham Collegiate Badges


Pictured above is the badge of The Wykeham Collegiate, flanked by the badges of the two founding schools that formed the basis for the new badge.

 From left to right, repeating: Girls’ Collegiate badge, The Wykeham Collegiate Badge, Wykeham School badge.


In 1878 Girls' Collegiate School was founded in Pietermaritzburg as an ‘Evangelical Protestant Day and Boarding School for Young Ladies’ and in 1905 Wykeham School was established as an independent school for young women. A decision to merge the two schools was made in 1988 and The Wykeham Collegiate opened officially in 1990. It quickly became recognised as one of the leading independent schools for girls in Africa. The focus was on academic matters, sport, music and drama.

Between 1995 and 2010 a steady programme of building and re-furbishing has considerably altered and much enhanced the school’s facilities. The serene, centrally placed Chapel was established in 1990 and quickly followed by additional classrooms and the vast, multi-purpose Leoné Hogg Centre. In 1998 the Senior Quadrangle was radically re-vamped and in 2001 and 2009 the Junior School opened Poppets (Grade RR) classes. In 2000-2001 a new Computer Centre and a Visual Arts Centre were opened. The Hall was transformed into a theatre for drama performances and a Music School was created at the east end of the hall by the addition of a building - the Adeé Varney Music Centre. Other additions to both the Junior and Senior Schools included a Creative laboratory, specialist subject classrooms, a Drama Centre, a Sports Science Complex, a synthetic turf hockey field and new Tuck Shop/Change Room complex. In 2005 (Wykeham’s Centenary) the Rose Ella Waring Trust donated Rose, the bronze figure in the main turning circle.

At the time of amalgamation, the school was led by Lady Principal, Miss Leoné Hogg. She was assisted by Mrs Adeé Varney, the Headmistress of the Senior School, and Marjorie Bennett, the Headmistress of the Junior School. In 1994, Mrs Flick Wright took up the post of Junior School Headmistress. Miss Jenny Ketley was Headmistress of the Senior School from 1996 - 1999. When Miss Hogg left the school to join the IEB in 1999, Mrs Judith Brown was appointed as both Lady Principal and Senior School Headmistress, being assisted first by Mrs Hilary Podmore and, following that, by Mrs Aileen Metherell and Mrs Cathy Thomson as Deputy Headmistresses.  In 2012, The Wykeham Collegiate welcomed the current Lady Principal, Ms Susan Tasker, who is also an Old Girl of Girls' Collegiate.